St Clement's, Ewell

  • 307 Kingston Road
  • Ewell
  • Surrey
  • KT19 0BW

020 8393 5572

Year of Mercy

Year of Mercy 2015-16

On his election as Pope( Bishop of Rome)
Pope Francis retained the coat of arms and motto
which he took at his own consecration as bishop.   

Miserando atque eligendo  

A reasonable English translation is:

By showing mercy and by choosing

In this he indicated how he wished to behave as Pope.

He would show mercy and make choices.

Since the year 1300 the Catholic church has held (ordinary ) Jubilee Years more or less every 25 years. They were times of spiritual home coming, reconciliation and renewal of faith. They never had quite the same social intent that the Jewish fifty year Jubilee had, when the restoration of land to its original owners was involved.

Every now and then Popes have called extraordinary Jubilee Years.
In recent times:

Paul VI in 1966
(To celebrate the conclusion of the second Vatican Council)

John Paul II in 1983
(To celebrate the 1950th anniversary of the death and resurrection of Jesus)

Following the two Synods on Family Life,
  his programme to reform church administration
  and the call to the world wide audience (made in Laudato Si)
  on the care for our common home
it is perhaps not too surprising that Pope Francis
has chosen
  to declare 2016 as an extraordinary Jubilee Year
  and has decided to dedicate it to Mercy.

  • When? 
    8 Dec 2015 -20 Nov 2016

  • Where?
    Special places of pilgrimage will be declared in each diocese 

  • Why? 
    To focus the Church as institution and the Church as pilgrim people on their role in revealing and living out God's love and mercy for the good of all people.
    An opportunity to deepen faith through the practical application of Mercy.
    To remind us that we serve and follow a merciful God.

  • How?
    All Holy Years are a call to prayer, pilgrimage and rediscovery of faith. In particular this one calls on the faithful to actively put into practice
    the Spiritual and Corporal Works of Mercy.

  • What are the  Works of Mercy ?
    Opportunities to bring love and practical help
    to those in need. The Church traditionally distinguishes
    the social(corporal - bodily) and the  spiritual (welfare of souls) needs


1 To feed the hungry

2 To give drink to the thirsty

3 To clothe the naked

4 To shelter the homeless

5 To visit the sick

6 To visit the imprisoned

7 To bury the dead


1 To instruct the ignorant

2 To counsel the doubtful

3 To admonish sinners

4 To bear wrongs patiently

5 To forgive offences willingly

6 To comfort the afflicted

7 To pray for the living and the dead.

  • What about Holy Doors?

During the history of Jubilee Years, the "Holy Door" at St Peter's has become a formal symbol for the pilgrim of the achievement of their goal. They would walk through the "Holy Door" opened especially for the Jubilee.
It was realised that not everyone could make a pilgrimage to Rome, so Holy Doors were established at Cathedrals and other national  places of pilgrimage.

For the 2016 Jubilee, each diocese has been encouraged to establish at least one Holy Door.

In Arundel and Brighton, as well as at the Cathedral in Arundel,
Holy Doors have been established at

  • Shrine of our Lady of Consolation, West Grinstead
  • Christ the Prince of Peace Church, Weybridge
  • Mayfield School Chapel

Those who pass through  these local Holy Doors are accorded the same spiritual benefits as those who attend St Peter's, Rome